Most people in the United States would draw a blank if you asked them how many U.S. territories there are, much less actually name them. The correct answer is five: American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The combined population of these five jurisdictions is equivalent to the combined population of the five smallest states. But their residents — 98% of whom are people of color — are denied both political rights in a federal government that holds nearly limitless authority over them and the basic right to self-determination.

Read more on Inside Philanthropy